First Things
First

To get your provisional (learner's) permit in California, you must:

  • Be between 15 ½ and 18 years old
  • Complete a 30-hour (or 2½ semester) driver’s ed course
  • Enroll in a 6-hour Behind-the-Wheel driver's training course

Here are
Your Next Step

After those prerequisites are met, go to the DMV, where you will:

  • Pay a small DMV fee
  • Have your picture taken
  • Take a Vision Test
  • Give your thumb print
  • Pass a written Traffic Laws and sign Test

How to Pass
Your Written Permit Test

This is it, the day you finally get to drive a car . . . if you pass that is. Take our course if you want to make sure that happens!

  • Get a minimum of 39 out of 46 on your permit test
  • You have 3 chances to pass
  • Then complete your behind-the-wheel training

To make passing your written test even easier, we provide you with a free 50 question practice test with the course. Take the test a few times until you feel comfortable enough to take the real thing. The questions on our practice test will automatically jumble for you, so it’s like taking a new test every time.

The Road to
Your Driver's License

Once you have your Learner's Permit, all you have to do is:

  • Drive 50 hours (10 hours of night driving) with a parent or guardian
  • Apply to get your Driver's License 6 months after you get your permit!

Acceptable Forms
of ID at the DMV

When you take all of these DMV tests, you'll need a valid Social Security Number, proof of birth date, proof of citizenship and valid ID. Acceptable forms of ID include:

  • U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Proof of Indian Blood Degree
  • U.S. Passport
  • U.S. Armed Forces ID Card
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Permanent Resident Card
  • A Foreign Passport or Mexican Border Crossing Card with Valid I-94

Remember
to Stay Safe!

Getting your driver license might feel like the end of a long journey, but in reality, it is just the beginning of learning how to drive safely. Remember to always stay vigilant while on the road. You have many years of safe driving ahead of you!

California
Online Driver’s Ed

  • Study Anywhere You Like
  • Have Fun While You Learn
  • You’re Guaranteed to Pass
California DMV Approved

Two Easy Payments of

$29.95

Sign Up Now

Learn More >

California DMV Approved

California Online Drivers Ed

 

Two easy payments of

$29.95

Sign Up Now